This short tutorial will show you how to adjust you’re My Workspace Preferences in Sakai. Preferences allows you to adjust which sites and in what order they display across the banner area of Sakai, including how they show up in the drawer. You can also get to Preferences by clicking on the person avatar just to the left of the Logout button.
The Preferences tool controls which sites appear in the banner at the top as well as in what sequence they appear within defined categories. You will only see sites/courses to which you already have access. Adjusting settings in Preferences adjusts them for the person currently logged in.
In the Customize Tabs area (default) are the My Active Sites list and My Hidden Sites list. By default, all sites are added to the My Active Sites list, so that they appear in the banner at the top and/or within the More Sites drawer by term. You can use the up and down arrow buttons to re-sequence the sites as they appear to you as well as change the number of sites that appear as individual buttons at the top using the Tabs Displayed drop down. Using the Right and Left arrows between the lists will allow you to move sites between the two lists. Sites included in the My Hidden Sites list are still available to any active participant in the site or course, but do not appear in the banner area or under the More Sites tab – but can be accessed using the Membership or Worksite Setup areas. Be sure to click Update Preferences at the bottom if you make changes you want to keep.
The Notifications area allows you to set preferences for how you are notified via email for low priority items, including Announcements, Resources Drop Box, Syllabus and Email Archive.
Time Zone allows you to set the time zone you currently reside in, and is set by default to US/Eastern.
Language allows you to choose your native language for the standard set of Sakai tools, but does not change the language of any authored content within a site.