Organizing Favorites in Sakai

With the recent upgrade to Sakai 12.1, faculty and students are starting to notice some of the nuance and changes from Sakai 11.

autoaddfavoritesites

One of the new features in Sakai is in the Organize Favorites tab under the Sites area.  Here you can now elect to have your newly added sites automatically added as favorites.  Essentially this acts as a way to keep tabs on courses you’re in without having to look under the Sites menu.

toomanyfavorites

This is a user preference – which means turning it on or off only affects you – the person changing it – not your students (if you’re a faculty member) and not faculty (if you’re a student).  With the setting turned on, you can still manage your favorite sites by selecting to turn the star next to a site yellow (favorited) or white (un-favorited). This setting can be very handy though, because when a new semester or session begins, as instructors (faculty) make course sites available, they’ll automatically show up as favorited sites in the top banner on your login.

reloadtoseenewfavoriteselections

There is a limit to the number of favorites you can have though – 15 in fact. If there are more than 15 sites favorited (either by you selecting that many or by way of having the “automatically add new sites to favorites” checked), you’ll get a notice on the Organize Favorites tab.  You can then review your favorited sites, unselecting specific ones or by using the star at the top of any term to unselect or select a whole term’s worth of sites.

select multiple favorites

Keep in mind that if you don’t see a site, it’s because it:

  1. hasn’t started yet, and therefore hasn’t been published by the instructor
  2. has concluded and the instructor has un-published the site
  3. as an instructor – you may not have been assigned to teach it yet
  4. you have the “automatically add new sites to favorites” turned off
  5. you have the “automatically add new sites to favorites” turned on, but you have too many sites favorited
  6. OR you may have it hidden in your Preferences>Sites area

Here’s a quick video over the concept and of course you can always check out the Users Guide on Sites organization here.

Advertisements

What is My Workspace Preferences in Sakai?

This short tutorial will show you how to adjust you’re My Workspace Preferences in Sakai.  Preferences allows you to adjust which sites and in what order they display across the banner area of Sakai, including how they show up in the drawer. You can also get to Preferences by clicking on the person avatar just to the left of the Logout button.

The Preferences tool controls which sites appear in the banner at the top as well as in what sequence they appear within defined categories.  You will only see sites/courses to which you already have access.  Adjusting settings in Preferences adjusts them for the person currently logged in.

My Workspace Preferences
My Workspace Preferences

In the Customize Tabs area (default) are the My Active Sites list and My Hidden Sites list.  By default, all sites are added to the My Active Sites list, so that they appear in the banner at the top and/or within the More Sites drawer by term. You can use the up and down arrow buttons to re-sequence the sites as they appear to you as well as change the number of sites that appear as individual buttons at the top using the Tabs Displayed drop down. Using the Right and Left arrows between the lists will allow you to move sites between the two lists. Sites included in the My Hidden Sites list are still available to any active participant in the site or course, but do not appear in the banner area or under the More Sites tab – but can be accessed using the Membership or Worksite Setup areas. Be sure to click Update Preferences at the bottom if you make changes you want to keep.

The Notifications area allows you to set preferences for how you are notified via email for low priority items, including Announcements, Resources Drop Box, Syllabus and Email Archive.

Time Zone allows you to set the time zone you currently reside in, and is set by default to US/Eastern.

Language allows you to choose your native language for the standard set of Sakai tools, but does not change the language of any authored content within a site.